PPRS New BrunswickPPRS Newfoundland and LabradorPPRS Nova ScotiaPPRS Northwest TerritoriesPPRS NunavutPPRS Prince Edward IslandPPRS Yukon

You've changed the wrong registration: what now?

When you are performing an Amendment, Discharge, Re-registration or Renewal, it is possible to accidentally change the wrong registration. To avoid doing this, always verify the registration details before changing a registration.

What should you do if you realize that you have accidentally changed the wrong registration?

We recommend that you inform the secured party of the accidental change.  For more information on informing the secured party, click here.

See additional recommendations below based upon the registration action performed.


Renewal -  Of the various types of accidental changes to a registration, renewal is the one least likely to harm the secured party. You have extended the term of the registration. The extension may or may not be of value to the secured party, but it does not reduce the effectiveness of the registration. However, it is still valuable to inform the secured party. The secured party may later need to manually discharge the registration because it will not lapse on the previous (pre-renewal) expiry date. Actions:

  • No additional registration actions. The renewal action to extend the term of the registration cannot be reversed.
  • Inform the secured party of the accidental renewal.

Discharge - Of the various types of accidental changes to a registration, discharge is the one most likely to harm the secured party. Though the affected registration will continue to be revealed in search result reports for an additional thirty days, registrations performed while the registration is discharged may take priority over the discharged registration. After thirty days, the registration will be permanently discharged without ability to re-register (reactivate) the registration.

If you have inadvertently discharged a registration, we recommend that you re-register it immediately, i.e. without awaiting communication with the secured party. The re-register action will return the registration to an "active" or "effective" state. The shorter the period that the registration remains discharged, the less likely it is the accidental discharge will have a negative impact on the secured party. Actions:

  • Re-register the registration ASAP and definitely within 30 days of the accidental discharge.
  • Inform the secured party of the accidental discharge and of your re-registration action.

Re-register - Only a registration that was discharged or lapsed (expired) during the last thirty days can be re-registered, so re-registration is the accidental change least likely to occur.

If the registration was discharged, then the re-registration will have returned it to an "active" state until it expires. To "correct" such a condition, the registration would need to be discharged again.

If the registration had lapsed, then the re-registration will provide a 24-hour period during which the registration may be renewed. To "correct" such a situation, no explicit action is necessary. If the registration is not renewed during the temporary re-registration period, it will return to a lapsed (expired) state.

If you have inadvertently re-registered a registration, we recommend that you inform the secured party, but we do NOT recommend that you attempt to correct the situation via another registration. Instead, we recommend that you leave the decision to the secured party. Actions:

  • No additional registration actions (at least not without the approval of the secured party). Leave the registration in its "active" state.
  • Inform the secured party of the accidental re-registration.

Amendment - Accidentally amending the wrong registration is very rare because the registrant must view registration details prior to making any registation changes. Unfortunately, if a registration has been amended in error, the additional amendment(s) to correct the errors may be complicated, so they could lead to compounding the problem. For this reason, we recommend that you always attempt to contact the secured party before proceeding with any attempts to correct the registration.

The severity of the possible harm to the secured party depends upon what was changed:

Most severe risk: A debtor or serial number record (a searchable value) has been deleted, i.e. a partial discharge. Note that "changing" an existing debtor or serial number record has the effect of deleting the existing record and adding a new record. In this instance, like Discharge, it is very important that the error be corrected as soon as possible and definitely within 30 days of the accidental change.

Moderate risk: A change to other existing registration details -- such as secured party records, court information, general description of collateral, or additional informationny -- is likely to misinform a searcher, but the searcher will at least have been made aware of the registration. The error should be corrected as soon as possible.

Least risk: A debtor, serial number, or secured party record has been added. In this instance, the secured party is least likely to be harmed by the "extra" information included within the registration. These changes are also the easiest to correct -- the extra records may simply be deleted by a subsequent amendment.

Actions:

  • Inform the secured party of the accidental amendment.
  • Approach additional amendment(s) to correct erroneous changes very carefully. If re-entering deleted records, for example, ensure that new records exactly reproduce the previous registration details.
  • Consider adding a description of the accidental amendment and its correction within the "Additional Information" field. For example:
    • "Amendment registration <registration number> on <date> contained inadvertant, erroneous changes to this registration which should be ignored. This amendment on <date> corrects those erroneous changes."

 

Inform the secured party

Here are more detailed recommendations if you are in the difficult situation of needing to inform a secured party that you have inadvertantly changed a registration:

1. Documentation: All secured parties listed in a registration that has been amended, discharged or re-registered will receive a PPRS Notice to Secured Party (NSP) report informing them of the change. However, we do not recommend you rely upon or wait for the secured party(ies) to receive the NSP.  Instead, you should provide a copy of the PPRS Verification Statement report for the erroneous registration. If you have performed any subsequent registrations to attempt to correct the problem, also provide copies of those Verification Statements. If you do not have a copy of an applicable Verification Statement, you can retrieve the current status of the registration, including the erroneous registration, by performing a PPRS Registration Number Search.

2. Contacting the secured party: The secured party record should contain contact information including one or more of the following: contact person's name, telephone number, fax number, email address, and mailing address. We recommend you use the most expedient methods available such as telephone, email and fax. The mailing address may be helpful to lookup telephone information if it was not provided within the registration or if it is out of date.

3. If there is more than one secured party: If there is more than one secured party, we recommend that you attempt to reach all secured parties until you make positive contact with at least one. Consult with that secured party regarding whether or not you should additionally contact other secured parties.

4. If not able to contact a secured party: If you are not able to contact the secured party, the registrant who performed the original registration may be a valuable alternative. For help identifying the previous registrant(s) for the registration contact the ACOL Client Support Centre. Explain to the agent why you are attempting to learn the identity and contact information for the registrant. The agent should be able to help you reach the registrant.

RENBIP Nouveau-Brunswick new brunswickPPRS Newfoundland and LabradorRENBIP Nouvelle-Écosse Nova ScotiaPPRS Northwest TerritoriesRENBIP NunavutRENBIP Île-du-Prince-Édouard prince edward islandRENBIP Yukon

Vous avez changé le mauvais enregistrement, que faire?

Lorsque vous effectuez une modification, une mainlevée, un nouvel enregistrement ou un renouvellement, il est possible de modifier accidentellement le mauvais enregistrement. Pour éviter que cela se produise, vérifiez toujours les détails d’un enregistrement avant de le modifier.

Que devriez-vous faire si vous réalisez que vous avez accidentellement modifié le mauvais enregistrement?

Nous vous recommandons d’aviser la partie garantie de la modification accidentelle. Pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur la manière d’aviser la partie garantie, cliquez ici.

Consultez les recommandations supplémentaires ci-dessous selon l’action effectuée sur l’enregistrement.


Renouvellement – De toutes les modifications d’enregistrement accidentelles, le renouvellement est probablement le moins susceptible de nuire à la partie garantie. Vous avez prolongé la période de l’enregistrement. Cette extension pourrait ou non être intéressante pour la partie garantie, mais elle ne réduit pas l’efficacité de l’enregistrement. Cependant, il convient tout de même d’en aviser la partie garantie. La partie garantie pourrait avoir besoin de modifier manuellement la mainlevée, puisqu’elle n’expirera pas à l’ancienne date (avant renouvellement). Actions :

  • Aucune autre action d’enregistrement n’est nécessaire. La prolongation de l’échéance de l’enregistrement par renouvellement est irréversible.
  • Avisez la partie garantie du renouvellement accidentel.

Mainlevée – De toutes les modifications d’enregistrement accidentelles, la mainlevée est probablement la plus susceptible de nuire à la partie garantie. Bien que l’enregistrement concerné pourra toujours être affiché dans les rapports de résultats de recherche pendant encore trente jours, les enregistrements effectués pendant que cet enregistrement fait l’objet d’une mainlevée pourraient être affichés de façon prioritaire au détriment de l’enregistrement faisant l’objet d’une mainlevée. Une fois les trente jours écoulés, la mainlevée deviendra permanente, et réactiver l’enregistrement sera impossible.

Si vous avez par mégarde appliqué une mainlevée à un enregistrement, nous recommandons de la réenregistrer immédiatement, c.-à.-d. sans attendre que la partie garantie communique avec vous. Le réenregistrement redonnera l’état « actif » ou « en vigueur » à l’enregistrement. Plus la période où l’enregistrement fait l’objet d’une mainlevée est courte, moins il est probable que la mainlevée accidentelle cause de problème à la partie garantie. Actions :

  • Réenregistrez l’enregistrement dès que possible et impérativement dans les 30 jours suivant la mainlevée accidentelle.
  • Informez la partie garantie de la mainlevée accidentelle et du réenregistrement effectué.

Réenregistrement – Seul un enregistrement qui a fait l’objet d’une mainlevée ou qui est devenu échu (expiré) au cours des 30 derniers jours peut être réenregistré, ce qui fait du réenregistrement la modification accidentelle la moins susceptible de se produire.

Si l’enregistrement a fait l’objet d’une mainlevée, le réenregistrement lui redonnera l’état « actif » jusqu’à son expiration. Pour « corriger » cet état, il faudrait alors soumettre l’enregistrement à une nouvelle mainlevée.

Si l’enregistrement est échu, effectuer un réenregistrement vous accorde un délai de 24 heures pendant lequel vous pouvez renouveler l’enregistrement. Aucune action n’est nécessaire pour « corriger » une telle situation. Si l’enregistrement n’est pas renouvelé au cours de la période de réenregistrement temporaire, il redeviendra alors échu (expiré).

Si vous avez réenregistré un enregistrement par mégarde, nous vous recommandons d’avertir la partie garantie et de NE PAS tenter de corriger la situation en effectuant un autre enregistrement. Nous recommandons de laisser la partie garantie prendre la décision. Actions :

  • Aucune autre action d’enregistrement (du moins, sans avoir reçu l’approbation de la partie garantie). Laissez l’enregistrement à l’état « actif ».
  • Avisez la partie garantie du réenregistrement accidentel.

Modification – La modification accidentelle d’un enregistrement est très rare, car l’enregistreur doit consulter les renseignements d’un enregistrement avant d’y apporter des modifications. Malheureusement, si un enregistrement a été modifié par erreur, les modifications nécessaires pour corriger le problème pourraient être complexes et aggraver la situation. C’est pourquoi nous recommandons de toujours communiquer avec la partie garantie avant d’effectuer toute tentative de correction de l’enregistrement.

La gravité des problèmes pouvant toucher la partie garantie dépend du changement effectué :

Le risque le plus grave est qu’un débiteur ou un numéro de série (une valeur de recherche) soit supprimé, c.-à-d. une mainlevée partielle. Veuillez noter que « modifier » un débiteur ou un numéro de série existant a pour effet de supprimer l’enregistrement existant et d’en créer un nouveau. Dans un tel cas, il est essentiel, tout comme en cas de mainlevée, de corriger l’erreur aussi rapidement que possible et impérativement dans les 30 jours suivant la modification accidentelle.

Risque modéré : Un changement aux autres renseignements d’enregistrement existants – comme les dossiers d’une partie garantie, des renseignements judiciaires, une description générale du bien grevé, ou d’autres renseignements – est susceptible d’induire un chercheur en erreur, mais le chercheur sera au moins au courant de l’enregistrement. L’erreur devrait être corrigée le plus rapidement possible.

Risque le moins important : Un débiteur, un numéro de série ou un enregistrement de partie garantie a été ajouté. Dans ce cas-ci, la partie garantie est la moins susceptible d’être touchée par les renseignements « supplémentaires » compris dans l’enregistrement. Ces changements sont également les plus faciles à corriger; les dossiers supplémentaires peuvent simplement être supprimés par une modification ultérieure.

Actions :

Informer la partie garantie de la modification accidentelle.

  • Aborder d’autres modifications très attentivement pour corriger les changements erronés. Par exemple, si vous entrez de nouveau des dossiers supprimés, veillez à ce que les nouveaux dossiers reproduisent exactement les renseignements d’enregistrement précédents.
  • Songez à ajouter une description de la modification accidentelle et de sa correction dans le champ « Renseignements supplémentaires ».
  • Par exemple :
    • « La modification à l’enregistrement <registration number> le <date> contenait des changements erronés qui devraient être ignorés. La modification effectuée le <date> a permis de corriger ces changements erronés. »

 

Informer la partie garantie

Voici des recommandations plus poussées si vous devez informer une partie garantie que vous avez changé un enregistrement par erreur :

1. Documentation : Toutes les parties garanties figurant dans un enregistrement qui a été modifié, annulé ou enregistré de nouveau recevront un rapport d’avis pour partie garantie du système RENBIP les informant du changement. Cependant, nous ne recommandons pas d’attendre que la ou les parties garanties reçoivent l’avis pour partie garantie. Vous devriez plutôt fournir une copie du rapport de déclaration de vérification du système RENBIP pour l’enregistrement erroné. Si vous avez réalisé des enregistrements ultérieurs afin d’essayer de corriger le problème, fournissez également des copies de ces déclarations de vérification. Si vous n’avez pas de copie d’une déclaration de vérification applicable, vous pouvez retrouver le statut actuel de l’enregistrement, y compris l’enregistrement erroné, en exécutant une recherche de numéro d’enregistrement du système RENBIP.

2. Communiquer avec la partie garantie : Le dossier de la partie garantie doit contenir des coordonnées, y compris un ou plusieurs des éléments suivants : nom de la personne-ressource, numéro de téléphone, numéro de télécopieur, adresse courriel et adresse postale.Nous vous recommandons d’utiliser les méthodes disponibles les plus efficaces, comme le téléphone, le courriel ou le télécopieur. L’adresse postale pourrait être utile pour chercher des renseignements téléphoniques qui ne seraient pas présents dans l’enregistrement ou qui ne seraient plus valides.

3. S’il y a plus d’une partie garantie : Nous vous recommandons d’essayer de joindre toutes les parties garanties jusqu’à ce que vous parveniez à communiquer avec au moins l’une d’entre elles. Décidez avec cette partie garantie si vous devriez communiquer avec les autres parties garanties ou non.

4. Si vous ne parvenez pas à joindre une partie garantie : Si vous êtes incapable de communiquer avec la partie garantie, l’enregistreur qui a effectué le premier enregistrement pourrait constituer une personne-ressource de rechange. Pour obtenir de l’aide afin d’identifier l’enregistreur ou les enregistreurs précédents et ainsi d’obtenir les coordonnées de la personne-ressource de l’enregistrement, communiquez avec le Centre de soutien à la clientèle d’ACOL. Expliquez à l’agent pourquoi vous essayez de connaître l’identité et les coordonnées de l’enregistreur. L’agent devrait être en mesure de vous aider à joindre l’enregistreur.