Closing Your ACOL PPRS Client Account
Before closing your ACOL PPRS client account, we recommend you take the following steps:
- Confirm that you want to permanently close your account.
- Print or download a current Account Statement.
- View, print or download all PPRS reports.
- Determine if you have PPR Secured Party Numbers that should continue to be used.
- Inform your users that the account will be closed.
- Ensure accurate contact information for return of account funds.
When you are ready to close your account, complete and send a Client Account Change Request.
After we have closed your account, we will refund to you any remaining funds held in your account.
Account closure is permanent and affects all users of the account. If you determine that you want ACOL PPRS access at a later date, you will be required to apply for a new account and new users.
If you are not sure that you want to permanently close your account, there are alternatives for restricting account activity:
2. Suspend the account. Like closing the account, suspending the account will result in all user access being revoked; however, the account is not permanently closed. Instead, a suspended account can be reactivated at a later date.
Before closing your account you should secure a record of your recent account activity via the ACOL Client Services Account Statement function. You are able to specify the date range and other parameters for the report.
While your users still have access to their PPRS reports via the <Retrieve Reports> function, they should ensure that they have viewed, printed or downloaded all reports. After account closure, the PPRS reports will no longer be available to you.
When your account is closed, any Personal Property Registry Secured Party Numbers administered by your users will be deactivated. This has the following impacts:
1. Deactivation does not affect existing PPR registrations where those Secured Party Numbers have already been used.
2. Deactivation prevents the Secured Party Number from being used in new registrations, including in a <Global Change of Registered Interest>.
3. Deactivation changes the delivery of any future Notice to Secured Party Reports for registrations where the the Secured Party Number has been used. Instead of being delivered electronically to the Secured Party Number Administrator, the Notice to Secured Party will be delivered by surface mail.
4. In order for a deactivated Secured Party Number to be reactivated, the responsible parties must submit a Request to Amend SP Administrative User ID / SP Numbers.
If your Secured Party Number should remain available for use by other users within PPR, the Secured Party Number Administrator can be changed to another active user by submitting a Request to Amend SP Administrative User / SP Numbers.
In order to avoid user problems, please inform your users that the account will be closed.
If you wish to prevent users from performing transactions prior to account closure, you can also revoke access for most users. Your Prime Administrative User can do this via the ACOL Client Services User Information function or request help from the ACOL Client Support Centre.
If you have any funds remaining in your ACOL account, ACOL will return the outstanding account balance to you after your account is closed.
In order for ACOL to send funds to the correct name and address, ensure that your account address and contact information are correct when you close your account.