PPRS New BrunswickPPRS Newfoundland and LabradorPPRS Nova ScotiaPPRS Northwest TerritoriesPPRS NunavutPPRS Prince Edward IslandPPRS Yukon

Manage My Users

User information includes the user's name, telephone, email address, access status (granted or revoked), and account authority level (Basic, Contact, or Prime Contact).

All users: You can view and change your own user name and contact information via ACS User Information.

Contact (administrative) users: You can view and change user information for other users via ACS User Information. You will need to know the User ID for the user.

User ID and password are the credentials required in order to login. The user password should be a protected secret known only to the user. Users are encouraged to regularly change their password in order to help protect it.

All users: You can change your own password via ACS Change Password.

Contact (administrative) users: You can change the password for another user via ACS Change Another User's Password.  When you change another user's password, the user will be forced to change their password immediately after logging in.

Why change another user's password?

  • Users sometimes forget their passwords.  You can enable a user to login by changing the password and providing this new password to the user.
  • If you are reassigning a User ID from one person to another, we recommend that you change the password for that User ID.  This forces the new person using the User ID to create a new, secret password of their own choosing.

 

An ACOL client account's administrative users are able to control whether other users are able to login or not.

All users: Your access status must be "Granted" in order for you to login.  If your access status is "Revoked" you will receive an error message when you attempt to login.

Contact users:  You can view and change a user's access status via ACS User Information. You will need to know the User ID for the user.

If you Revoke a user's access status while the user is logged in, it will not end the user's session, and it will not prevent the user from performing any new functions. The user will be revoked only once logged off.

An ACOL client account can include one or more users.  Each user is uniquely identified by the User ID.

If you have a User ID that is currently not being used, you may reassign it to a someone new.

  • Use the function ACS User Information in order to enter the new user's name and contact information. If applicable, set the user's access status to Granted.
  • Then use the function ACS Change Another User's Password in order to create a password that you can provide to the new user. The user will be forced to change their password immediately after logging in.

An ACOL client account can include one or more users.  Each user is uniquely identified by the User ID.

There are three options for adding someone new to your ACOL client account:

1. Reassign an existing, unused User ID:  If you have a User ID that is currently not being used, you may reassign it to a someone new. Use the function ACS User Information in order to enter the new user's name and contact information. Then use the function ACS Change Another User's Password in order to create a password that you can provide to the new user. The user will be forced to change their password immediately after logging in.

2. Prepare and submit a Client Account Change Request: This multi-purpose form is effective for adding one or more users with simple access privileges.  If you are adding many users or if some have advanced access privileges, we recommend you use option 3 below.

3. Prepare and submit a Client Application Addendum (PPR) or Client Application Addendum (DIAS). This multi-purpose form is effective for adding multiple users, including when one or more of the users will be assigned advanced access privileges.

An ACOL client account can include one or more users.  Each user is uniquely identified by the User ID.

To delete one or more users, prepare and submit a Client Account Change Request form. You will be asked to designate the User ID(s) to be deleted.

Delete the user or revoke access?

Before you delete a user, please consider if you might soon need to add a user. Instead of deleting one user and adding another, you have the option to reassign a User ID from one person to another.  If you choose not to delete the user, but the User ID will not be immediately reassigned to another person, then you should revoke the User ID's access in order to prevent anyone from logging in with that User ID.

PPRS access privileges control the PPRS functions (search, register, administer a secured party number, etc.) that a user is able to perform.  PPRS access privileges are defined within client account application and client account change forms submitted to the ACOL Business Financial Office. 

All users: Not applicable. You are not able to change your own PPRS access privileges.

Contact (administrative) users: To change an existing user's access privileges, prepare and submit a Client Account Change Request.  To create a new user, prepare and submit either a Client Account Change Request or a Client Application Addendum.

An ACOL client account can include one or more users.  Each user is uniquely identified by the User ID.

All users: An account's user list is protected information. You are not able to lookup an account's users online.

Contact users: Your account's full list of users was provided with the ACOL Welcome Package for your account. For a current list of users, please contact the Client Support Centre.

Every ACOL client account is assigned one user with PRIME Account Administration privileges. This person, who may also be referred to as the "Prime Contact" or "Primary Contact", is the person with the highest online authority to manage the account and its users.

The Prime Account Administration user is assigned via the ACOL client account application. Thereafter, to change this role to a different user you must prepare and submit a Client Account Change Request form. See the section of the form labelled "Change Primary Contact To:"

If your Prime Account Administration user is going to be a new user, you can add the user and assign the Prime Account Administration role at the same time. See Add a User for more information.

Every ACOL User ID is unique and is assigned to one and only one ACOL client account.  ACOL users cannot be moved from one account to another.

Special circumstances? Contact us.

We do understand that some circumstances, such as two companies merging, may make it desirable to move users between accounts.  Instead, new users will need to be created in one of the existing accounts.  We can help make this process easier for you.  Contact the Client Support Centre and ask to speak with the Business Financial Office.

Here are some suggestions for avoiding password problems:

1. Choose a password that you can remember. How? Passphrases? Acronyms? Letter codes?  Our advice: use the Internet to learn a technique that will work for you. Search for "tips for remembering passwords" and you should find what you need. Here is one helpful article: http://www.wikihow.com/Create-a-Password-You-Can-Remember

2. Don't share your user ID with another person. Besides the other security risks of sharing a user ID, shared user IDs often lead to password problems. One person will change the password, and then another person will be unable to login.

3.  Use strong passwords and protect them. The worst password problem is being hacked. Your user ID and password identify you and provide access to your account. Protect them.