Newfoundland and Labrador Postal Symbol Change to 'NL'
10 March 2003

IMPORTANT: The following change pertains to all provinces and territories served by ACOL Personal Property Registry System (PPRS), namely:

  • New Brunswick
  • Newfoundland and Labrador
  • Northwest Territories
  • Nova Scotia
  • Nunavut
  • Prince Edward Island

On December 6, 2001, an amendment to the federal Constitution Act officially changed the name of the province of Newfoundland to the province of Newfoundland and Labrador. The Newfoundland and Labrador provincial government subsequently requested Canada Post to implement NL as the province's new postal symbol.

To support the change of the postal symbol from ‘NF’ to ‘NL’, an ACOL Desktop software update will implement changes to the ACOL PPRS on 7 April 2003 as follows:

  1. ACOL PPRS will support the entry of ‘NL’ as the postal symbol for Newfoundland and Labrador in all address records: Debtor, Secured Party, PPRS Client Information, and Secured Party Number.
  2. PPR address records containing the postal symbol ‘NF’ will be changed to contain the postal symbol ‘NL’ for all jurisdictions except Nunavut. This will apply to all activeregistrations.
  3. ACOL PPRS will prevent the entry of ‘NF’ in new address records.

An “active” PPR registration refers to a registration that has not been discharged or lapsed for more than 30 days.

In addition to the above changes to provincial/territorial PPR databases, all ACOL client account address records containing the postal symbol ‘NF’ will be changed to ‘NL’.

For additional information, please see the following Canada Post web page regarding the new Newfoundland and Labrador postal symbol:

     New provincial postal symbol for Newfoundland and Labrador